News from the Managing Editor

Originally posted 2nd September 2018

The last five years at the Sociological Review have been an exciting time. There have been many changes as we have risen to the challenge of making the sociological vital and relevant. We have come a long way: establishing the Sociological Review Foundation Limited; developing our digital and social media platforms; investing in Early Career Social Scientists through our renewed commitment to the Sociological Review Fellowship, our Annual Writing RetreatKick Start Funding, and conference support; the establishment of the Annual Lectureseminar series and other events, notably our recent Undisciplining conference—and there is still a way to go as we meet new challenges in times of dramatic economic and political change.

None of this would be possible without the enthusiasm and support of our editorial board members. We expect a lot from them and have come to rely on their investment in the daily life of the journal and the Foundation. Much of this work is behind the scenes. And so as we say goodbye to some of those who have been working with us for the past five years, we want to register our deep thanks for their belief in and support for the Manifesto. 

Special thanks go to Nickie Charles and Rolland Munro, previous editors of the journal; Joanna Latimer and Maggie O’Neill, who have overseen and developed our annual seminar series competition for the past five years; and Mark Featherstone, our reviews editor of the past fifteen (!) years who has also taken a leading role in recruiting the Sociological Review Fellows in recent years. We also say goodbye to Nick Couldry, Gail Davies, Sam Friedman, Masato Fukushima, Melissa Gregg, Gay Hawkins, Kevin Hetherington, Turo-Kimmo Lehtonen, Nick Mai, Noortje Marres, Maria Puig de la Bellacasa, Diane Reay, Srila Roy and Michael Schillmeier. We wish you all the best for the future. 

Earlier in the year we opened up applications for people to join the board. We were really heartened to hear from so many people wanting to join us. This also meant making some very difficult decisions as there were many strong applications. We are pleased to announce that the following people join us on the board from September 2018: Sébastien Bachelet, Amy Chandler, Remi Joseph-Salisbury, Irmak Karademir Hazir, Cath Lambert, Xiaodong Lin, Dimitris Papadopoulos, Sweta Rajan-Rankin, Tracey Skillington, Satnam Virdee, and Sonja van Wichelen. Welcome to the team! 

Dr Michaela Benson
Managing Editor, The Sociological Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: